Note taking strategies

In the next half of the school year we need to be able to put together a good research paper by using many credible sources, but how can you keep yourself from getting lost in the information? The first thing that I will be doing is getting organized from the start. This means that I will have everything sorted, before there’s anything to sort. In other words, I will have a place to put all of my sources, keeping everything neat and organized. Premaking a computer folder, and using a real folder to put hard copies of all of my sources. I will use the computer folder first for keeping digital sources and then later for any information I find relevant or useful. I am going to make use of the notecard system for very good information that I don’t want to forget about, color coding by topic. I may even write a brief synopsis of each, to keep everything straight. I prefer hard copies, so I am going to use my hard copies to take notes right on, this will keep my thoughts with exactly the quote or idea that I want it to be with, making it easier to come back to my work and know exactly what thought goes with what.

I think that using this rather in depth organizational strategy will keep my from getting buried in information


Leave a comment